Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick

As I detailed in my recent blog post on L’Oreal Infallible 24h Lip Colours, liquid lipsticks are everywhere!  Their long lasting attribute is in my opinion their key selling point.  Anyway…lets get talking about the product featuring in this review.

I picked up this liquid lipstick hoping that I would find a little treasure for a real affordable price (£8.99 at the time of publishing at Boots).  Bourjois as a brand have some great products and I normally find them of great quality.  I selected ’07 Nude-ist’ although it looked pinkish in the packaging, based on its name I hoped it would look more nude on the lip.  On this factor, however I was disappointed, it definitely is not nude – it is pink!!  Although a very nice pink, it was not the colour I was thinking I was buying, however I will definitely be able to wear the colour regularly, especially as the summer is coming.  My advice with these lipsticks…try the tester to get a good idea of the colour you are buying before you buy.

The colour is pigmented and provides an even application first time.

The product went far on the lip, with one dip into the product nearly covering the whole lip.  The applicator is a great shape.  Bourjois highlight that the colour is both matt and velvety.  The colour I purchased is definitely both of these upon application.  The product feels nearly creamy on the lips when applying and when it has dried it would be so easy to forget it is on your lips (it does take quite a while for it to completely dry and will transfer before this).  Unfortunately after wear, it definitely does dry out my lips (more than most others I have tried) however this would not put me off using it, but I wouldn’t repurchase another colour.

This product is also not as long wearing as the L’Oreal Infallible 24h Colours or the NYX Lip Lingerie Lipsticks that I have tried.  However, the way it wears off enables you to reapply without an issue.

Overall I was not very impressed with this product.  I have not tried any of the other colours so am unaware if they have the same qualities as I have detailed but I don’t have any plans to try any of the others.  I feel that there are better liquid lipsticks out there and hope that Bourjois will update their formula.

Leave a Reply

