Its all about Matte!

Processed with MOLDIV

We are always told that our crease and transition shades should be matte as they blend more effortlessly than shimmers or glitters and give a gradient effect, however it is always so hard to find matte shadows. Most eye shadow palettes have very few matte shades, with it being extremely difficult to find colours that aren’t brown or grey matte shades to play with. Following a recent makeup class I began a hunt to find a matte palette and I found one…Makeup Revolution Flawless Matte palette.

Following a recommendation by a colleague I thought I would give this palette a try, even though I was a bit sceptical due to the price point…32 shadows for £8. Well, I am really glad I did. The 32 shades are very useable with varying colours from all shades of brown, pink, burnt orange, navy and stone grey. The swatches below show how the colours vary.

Processed with MOLDIV

Column 1

Processed with MOLDIV

Column 2

Processed with MOLDIV

Column 3

Processed with MOLDIV

Column 4

Processed with MOLDIV

Column 5

Processed with MOLDIV

Column 6

Processed with MOLDIV

Column 7

Processed with MOLDIV

Column 8

(Sorry about swatches overload!)

Now that you have seen all the shades, I’ll let you in on my thoughts. First with the pros:

  • I have been using pearl to set my eyeshadow primer which I love, as it is a much more natural skin colour than the white powders I often end up using.  As you can see in the swatch…it is so similar to my skin it is barely visible.
  • The transition shade options are endless.
  • At the minute I am loving pink, girly eye shadow looks so have been using muse, warm and shell topped off with shimmery shades from my other palettes.
  • The shades blend surprisingly well and some give a nice colour pay off (although not all)
  • The price is amazing!

Now for the cons:

  • As the first listed ingredient is talc, I wasn’t overly surprised to find that there is a lot of fall out but this is easily fixed by tapping off the excess before application.
  • Some of the shades are not very pigmented, especially those at the start of the palette (columns 1 to 4). I had to complete numerous swipes for the first three / four columns in the palette. (Note Flaw and Nutmeg are very close to my skin tones and therefore are hard to see on my skin anyway) From the fifth column on the pigmentation improves a lot.

For £8 I think this palette is great value; don’t get me wrong, it is not of the quality of Too Faced or Inglot eye shadows but that couldn’t be expected from the price. It is definitely a very useable palette and I would recommend it for anyone. You can buy the palette from Superdrug here. You can also check out the Makeup Revolution website to see the second instalment of their matte palettes.

Have you any matte palette recommendations?  Or what is your favourite Makeup Revolution product?  I really think this is the first one I have ever bought!!

Thanks for taking the time to read my post!

Love Being Graceful  xx

Processed with MOLDIV

 

13 thoughts on “Its all about Matte!

  1. itsheyjune says:

    I actually didn’t know that matte shadows were better for blending! I guess that shows how little I still know about makeup lol. I have been seeing so many Makeup Revolution palette reviews lately! I really have to get myself one too! Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lou Francesca says:

    I still haven’t tried anything from Makeup Revolution! This palette looks amazing, Ive been on the hunt for matte colours but a lot of brands make them so shimmery. Would love if you could check out my fashion blog? 🙂

    The Fashion Road
    Instagram @louisefrancescaa

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

