Battle of my Everyday Foundations

This is the battle of three of my every day foundations.  Some days my skin can be a good (not perfect) canvas for application, while other days my blemishes require a good foundation to even out my skin tone.  As everyone has differing requirements and skin types, please keep these in mind when reading this blog; what works for me, may not work for you.

Anyway, let the battle commence!

1. L’Oréal Paris Infallible 24H Matte Foundation

IMG_1677

This foundation has been a recent discovery for me, and how much I have enjoyed this affordable product can be evidenced by the fact that I just repurchased it.  The foundation boasts of its high coverage matte result which lasts up to 24 hours with a ‘no cakey’ effect.

Due to my pale (nearly ghostlike) complexion I often find it hard to match foundations to compliment my skin tone; however, 10 porcelain is a perfect match – I would definitely recommend others with a pale skin tone to try out this product.

Although I have not worn this foundation for 24 hours, it certainly has proven to be long wearing.  Due to its high coverage I have found it covers any redness beautifully.  I was worried that it would stick to my dry patches and little friends (spots) however I was presently surprised at its performance.  Although it is matte finish, it hasn’t made my skin appear dry or lack lustre.

This product is around £8 for 35 ml, a real steal in my opinion.  The product can be purchased here.

This product is part of a range of infallible products from L’Oréal and based on this product I am looking forward to trying them out…watch this space!

2. Too Faced Born This Way Foundation

This was one foundation that I really wanted to get my hands on.  However when I went to buy this product in Northern Ireland I found that it wasn’t as easy as I first imagined.  Although Debenhams are a stockist of Too Faced, a member of staff was not available to help me match my skin tone on any of my numerous visits. When spending £29 on a foundation I wanted to make sure that I purchased the correct colour.  Eventually I purchased the foundation when in Glasgow.  (It is available online!)

I purchased this product in Ivory and when I apply it, it appears quite yellow on my skin (not my preferred look), however after time this colour seems to fade and become much more natural.  This could be completely my fault in colour matching however it was the best colour match available in the store.  While the store I visited was limited on shade selection, Too Faced have really out done themselves on the number of shades that are available, see here for the full range.  It is described as medium-to-full coverage; I would agree that it is medium coverage but can build to be full.

It is infused with coconut water, alpine rose and hyaluronic acid to help aid skin’s moisture while brightening its appearance.  This foundation is beautifully moisturising and gives the skin a healthy glow.  As I have normal skin which has a few dry patches it makes my skin look very even (and as smooth as it can be with the occasional spot).  I am unsure that this would be the best product for oily skin.

This product costs £29 so is quite expensive for 30 ml, although it has moisturising features.  It can be purchased here.  Although I have enjoyed using this product I don’t think I will be repurchasing.  However, if you have clear skin I think you would really like this foundation.

IMG_1716.JPG

3. Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation

I first purchased the shade 103 True Ivory, however I looked a bit like an Umpa Lumpa.  I was so impressed with how the foundation felt on my skin, I went back and bought the much more appropriate colour for me, 010 Light Porcelain.

This foundation, as the name suggests, is supposed to awaken the skin providing a healthy glow and moisturising texture.   It is therefore much more comparable to the Too Faced Born This Way foundation than the L’Oréal Paris Infallible 24H Matte foundation.  The moisturising formula feels light on the skin, however I found it felt damp for quite a while after application.  The dewy finish it provides, creates the desired effect of refreshed and ‘awakened’ skin.

This product is for sale for £8.99 for 30 ml so although it did not feel quite as comfortable on the skin as the Too Faced Born This Way foundation, it is still a fantastic alternative.  The product can be purchased here.  For value for money, I would purchase this product again and think it will be perfect for a dewy spring time look.

IMG_1725.JPG

 

After trying these products for a number of months, my clear favourite and most used to date is the L’Oréal Paris Infallible 24H Matte Foundation.  I find it provides a fuller coverage and copes with the stressful and often long days that I put it through.  Big thumbs up from me!

Which is your favourite?  I’d love to know, please leave a comment.

 

One thought on “Battle of my Everyday Foundations

Leave a comment